“the calm before the storm”

The Calm before the Storm

Time for bed.

I’ve had quite the day–and tomorrow I’ll fight another.

but as for now, the night draws in, and restful sleep is mine.

Thankfully I’m not an insomniac, tormented by the thoughts that swarm my mind.

For the next 7 hours, my ponderings will rest as if they’re letting me off the hook.

This part of my routine is so important because it suggests that the main function of sleep is not only restoration but also, compassion.

No matter what heroism or evil I did for the day,

my head will lay to rest.. just like everyone else.

And as I lay in peacefulness, my mind ventures off into an unknown on overdrive.

It invents fantasies like there is not a tomorrow because sleep is a great deceiver.

One thought on ““the calm before the storm”

Leave a Reply

